Harbingers

Image

The potatoes know it’s spring.
In the cupboard,
shut away from light
they have begun
to sprout toward it.
Even in the dark
somehow they know.

In my kitchen yesterday
a lone ant and it’s not even May!
It seems spring
has been whispering to it.

Birds have been singing about it for weeks.

In my hunger for spring I ignored the signs,
dwelt on the chill rather than noticed
how the light grows longer with each day
the buds begin to swell,
green shoots pierce soil freshly freed of frost.

My impatient heart’s longing
deafened me, now I am reminded
by these humble whisperings.

Tasha Halpert

One thought on “Harbingers

  1. Tasha, you end the whole article with these three phrases
    “My impatient heart’s longing
    deafened me, now I am reminded
    by these humble whisperings.”
    Sydney has so much things to learn, it also mean I can’t let go my Blogging any more!
    Thanks for sharing, my friend! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.